Join GHQ's free e-mail list. Just enter your e-mail address and click on the Subscribe button. You can cancel your subscription at any time.

GHQ Models Forums
The Best Damn Wargaming Forum
 
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
M1A2 SEP TUSK II

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GHQ Models Forums Forum Index -> Military Models General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hoth_902
E5


Joined: 17 Jun 2014
Posts: 496
Location: Pacific Northwest

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2019 11:23 am    Post subject: M1A2 SEP TUSK II Reply with quote

So I started looking at my TUSK II abrams and comparing it to some pictures on line. The GHQ model has the two guns for the hatches and a remotely operated station. The pictures I have looked at, on line, show that if the Remote gun station is installed, the protected firing station on the right hatch is not installed.

My question is, has anyone seen a picture where all three firing positions are installed at the same time? I am probably going to fill the hole for the remote firing station and just have the two hatch mounted firing positions. I am sure GHQ has a basis for how they modeled it, but I have not seen photographic evidence yet.
_________________
Quanity has a Quality all its own.

http://warriorbear.weebly.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BenfromBrooklyn



Joined: 20 Mar 2017
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uh oh.

Now I have to remove a machine gun?
Getting them all on was hard enough.

I worked out a really good procedure, though.

1. Install the Crows.
2. Install the right hand protected firing station.
3. Work as a jeweler or micro-surgeon for a few years, for practice.
4. Install that last machine gun.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
panzergator
E5


Joined: 07 Oct 2015
Posts: 1594

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you know all the things that the tank commander, and especially if he's a platoon leader or platoon sergeant, or even a company commander, imagine having TWO M2s to service. One is enough.
_________________
All blessings flow from a good mission statement.
Pogo was right. So was Ike.
"A Gentleman is a man who is only rude intentionally." (Churchill)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hoth_902
E5


Joined: 17 Jun 2014
Posts: 496
Location: Pacific Northwest

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, is that a general consensus that I did not miss something and there are only two positions at any one time? I know only putting two would still be correct. So only doing two is ok.

I wish GHQ would develop mod packs that allow you to add things to the existing vehicle. Like, if you wanted to install the remote M2 and remove the right hand position. Having a piece to install so the hatch was there, would be nice. I know that is shooting for the moon.
_________________
Quanity has a Quality all its own.

http://warriorbear.weebly.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
panzergator
E5


Joined: 07 Oct 2015
Posts: 1594

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have the model, so I can't advise, and have no experience in the vehicle. I was surprised to see it set up the way it was. The other consideration is that only so mulch ammunition can be carried.
_________________
All blessings flow from a good mission statement.
Pogo was right. So was Ike.
"A Gentleman is a man who is only rude intentionally." (Churchill)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hoth_902
E5


Joined: 17 Jun 2014
Posts: 496
Location: Pacific Northwest

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2019 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agreed, It seemed a bit much. Like I said, every picture I've seen only has one or the other. GHQ normally seems to be on there game with minimal inaccuracies, so I was trying to not second guess them. However, I think I am going to delete the remote station and just go with the two manual ones.

BenfromBrooklyn,

You could always just leave them, since you put them on. I feel your pain with the amount of effort to put on the little naughty pits.. Its a chore. Please post pictures of your work, once its painted up.
_________________
Quanity has a Quality all its own.

http://warriorbear.weebly.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
redleg
E5


Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 1118
Location: Riverside, CA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2019 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to this article the TUSK variant has 4 machine guns. .50 cal in the RWS at the commander's cupola, a 7.62mm at the loader's hatch, a remote controlled .50 cal mounted over the main gun, and the 7.62m coax.

Maybe that's what the model is supposed to depict?

http://www.military-today.com/tanks/tusk.htm
_________________
"Artillery lends dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl".
-Unknown Artilleryman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Hoth_902
E5


Joined: 17 Jun 2014
Posts: 496
Location: Pacific Northwest

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2019 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Redleg,

I believe the model has the coax. It definitely has the M2 over the main gun. Then has both guns for the command hatch and the Loaders hatch. Then they also included the remote gun that is located in front of the commanders hatch. So the GHQ depicts 5 guns.

I have seen pictures with either the remote M2 on top of the turret, not above the gun, or the M2 mount for the commander that is not remote.

This one has the commander and the loader mounts



this one has the Remote gun and no commanders gun with loaders gun.

_________________
Quanity has a Quality all its own.

http://warriorbear.weebly.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Hoth_902
E5


Joined: 17 Jun 2014
Posts: 496
Location: Pacific Northwest

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2019 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Redleg,

I read your article again and it looks like the remotely operated gun is used in later versions.

"Vehicle commander has got a transparent shielding around his 12.7 mm machine gun. The latest M1A2 SEP tanks are fitted with remotely controlled weapon station, armed with a 12.7 mm machine gun. It is controlled by the vehicle commander from inside of the turret. So vehicle commander is no longer exposed to enemy fire."

The sad part about this is, GHQ has the remote gun station, but you cannot delete the Commanders external firing station. If you did, it would leave a big hole in the turret and even if filled, you would not be able to have a hatch.

Request for GHQ, please make a replacement for the Commanders firing port so we can have some tanks with the external commander spot and the remote spot.

I think, sadly I will have none with the remote gun station and will delete that gun and just have the commanders and the loaders external firing position.
_________________
Quanity has a Quality all its own.

http://warriorbear.weebly.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
redleg
E5


Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 1118
Location: Riverside, CA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right, Hoth - I didn't catch that. Post some pics when you get them done so we can see what they look like!
_________________
"Artillery lends dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl".
-Unknown Artilleryman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Hoth_902
E5


Joined: 17 Jun 2014
Posts: 496
Location: Pacific Northwest

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will move them up in the order, so I can finish them in this lifetime. LOL
_________________
Quanity has a Quality all its own.

http://warriorbear.weebly.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GHQ Models Forums Forum Index -> Military Models General Forum All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum





Military Models  |  N-Scale Models  |  HO-Scale Models  |  Contact GHQ
About GHQ  |  GHQ Forums  |  GHQ Order Form

©Copyright 2004-2011 GHQ Models - All Rights Reserved
Website created and hosted by KDV Technology & Consulting